Save your search and we email you as soon as a property matches.
See rentals in Lomé→An online estimate based on prices actually observed in your city.
Start an estimate→New developments across Africa, linked to their developers.
Our selection→The instalment goes out on its own, you record the payment received, the numbered receipt follows.
Create my landlord space→Builders, notaries, surveyors, architects: find the right person near you.
Browse the directory→Listings, new developments and property professionals across Togo, Benin, Côte d'Ivoire, Senegal and Ghana.
June 7, 2026
28 min
· Koffi A. Hounnou
In Benin, only a land title (titre foncier) gives full ownership of a plot or a house (article 112 of the Land and State Property Code, as amended in 2017). Since the transition period ended on 14 August 2023, land can no longer be sold on a simple sale agreement: the sale must be preceded by the confirmation of land rights or, failing that, by a certificate of ownership (certificat d'appartenance) issued by the National Land and State Property Agency (ANDF) and valid for one year, and the deed goes through a notary. Transferring an already titled property is done online by the notary with the ANDF, which advertises a 72-hour turnaround, and the General Tax Code sets a 5% registration duty on the price. For rentals, Law No. 2022-30 of 20 December 2022 caps the deposit at three months' rent, the fee of an agent who only finds the home at half a month's rent, and yearly increases under a review clause at 2%. Imonga publishes no prices for Cotonou because it has no listings in Benin; as of 14 September 2026 the site lists 31 Beninese property professionals.
We give no rents by neighbourhood and no price per square metre. As of 14 September 2026, Imonga has no published listings and no new-build projects in Benin, and we found no recent public statistics on rents or sale prices in Cotonou that explain their method. Earlier versions of this page and of our article on Cotonou "opportunities" gave rent ranges for Cadjèhoun, land prices for Akpakpa and labels for neighbourhoods without any source: those figures and judgements have been removed.
The only public prices we quote are those an operator displays for its own homes, such as SImAU for the 20,000-homes programme (see below). For an existing property, compare similar homes in the same neighbourhood and get a valuation before signing.
The core text is Law No. 2013-01 of 14 August 2013 on the Land and State Property Code, amended by Law No. 2017-15 of 10 August 2017. It covers urban, peri-urban and rural land, so it applies in Cotonou as well as Abomey-Calavi, Porto-Novo, Sèmè-Podji or Ouidah. The rules below are Benin's only: in Togo or Côte d'Ivoire the same words (land title, attestation, sale agreement) do not mean the same procedures.
In its 2013 version, the code ended the rights-confirmation procedure with a land ownership certificate (certificat de propriété foncière, CPF). The 2017 law replaced it with the land title (new article 4) and settled the fate of documents already issued: CPFs obtained at the end of procedures started before the reform "are deemed land titles" (article 539-2), and land titles issued between 2013 and 2017 remain valid (article 539-3). A CPF is therefore not a second-class document, but have the notary check that it matches an entry in the land register.
The code lists the "documents of presumed ownership" that can support an application for a land title (new article 4). None of them is ownership: they only open the procedure.
| Document | What it is worth in Benin | Legal basis |
|---|---|---|
| Land title (or CPF deemed a land title) | Full ownership, final and unchallengeable | Land Code, articles 112, 146 and 539-2 |
| Certificate of customary holding (attestation de détention coutumière) | Presumption of ownership, issued by the mayor after a public and adversarial inquiry | New articles 4 and 352 |
| Resettlement certificate (attestation de recasement) | Presumption of ownership | New article 4 |
| Property tax notices for the last three years | Presumption of ownership | New article 4 |
| Registration certificate, administrative certificate, rural land certificate | Presumption; rural land and administrative certificates stand until proven otherwise but give way to a land title | New articles 4, 378 and 520 |
| Residence permit (permis d'habiter) | Precarious, revocable permit on State land; it only proves a right of use, but its holder can apply for a land title | New article 380; Decree No. 2018-473 |
| Sale agreement (convention de vente, "papier de vente") | Not on the list of presumption documents; it may be one piece of evidence in court, but it is no longer enough to sell | New articles 4 and 375; article 17 |
For residence permits on State land, Decree No. 2018-473 of 10 October 2018 sets out how to obtain a land title: file lodged with the ANDF with the permit and a topographic survey, the application posted at the court and the town hall and, in some cases, fifteen days for neighbours to dispute the boundaries.
The 2017 law allowed ten years from the code's promulgation in 2013 during which a sale of land without confirmed rights could still be recorded by notarial deed, by a private deed lodged with a notary or by a deed attested before the administrative authority; after that, article 17 applies (new article 516). Article 17 is the key rule for buyers:
"Any sale of land or of a building must be preceded by the confirmation of the land rights held over that property. Failing confirmation of rights, the seller must, before the transaction, obtain from the National Land Agency a certificate of ownership (certificat d'appartenance) whose validity […] is one (01) year, not renewable." (our translation)
Article 16 adds that any transfer of ownership not preceded by confirmation of rights is "absolutely void", and article 18 requires a notarial deed or a private deed lodged with a notary. In July 2023 the ANDF's director general recalled this switch and denied any "systematic conversion" of untitled land into State property (Banouto, 14 July 2023). The "Access to land" page on the ANDF website still mentions a transition period ending on 14 August 2020: the text in force, the 2017 law, sets ten years from 2013, which means 14 August 2023.
Decree No. 2025-176 of 9 April 2025 organised the national cadastre around three tools:
In a notice dated 2 December 2024, the ANDF announced that from 1 January 2025 all land formalisation operations are carried out exclusively in the cadastral database through the e-Foncier Bénin platform in twelve municipalities: Cotonou, Porto-Novo, Parakou, Abomey-Calavi, Sèmè-Podji, Djougou, Pobè, Aplahoué, Bohicon, Sakété, N'Dali and Grand-Popo. Ouidah is not on that list: check with the relevant ANDF office before starting a procedure there.
Any individual or company of Beninese nationality can buy buildings or land in Benin. Non-nationals can buy a property in urban areas "subject to reciprocity agreements or international treaties or agreements", and can sign residential or commercial leases (article 14 of the code). According to the ANDF "Access to land" page, rural land can only be bought by Beninese nationals. A member of the Beninese diaspora therefore buys like a resident; a foreign buyer should first have the notary confirm that their country is covered by reciprocity.
Since 2023 the logic is simple: no land title and no valid certificate of ownership, no sale. Here is the order of the steps.
Checks specific to bare land (boundaries, neighbours, subdivision) are covered in our guide to buying land in Cotonou.
The code recognises two ways of selling a building to be constructed: turnkey sale, where the developer builds at its own cost and then sells, and off-plan sale (vente en l'état futur d'achèvement), where the price is paid as the works progress (article 13). Law No. 2022-30 also regulates rent-to-own (location-accession), which lets a tenant become the owner after a rental period:
The amounts below come from official texts, but they date from different years and have not all been republished since. Ask the notary for a written, itemised statement before signing.
| Item | Amount set | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Registration duty on a property sale | 5% of the price | General Tax Code, article 331, as worded by the 2024 finance law |
| Purchase of a property by a commercial or industrial company, up to 50,000,000 FCFA | Registered free of duty, provided the company keeps the property for ten years | Same article |
| Credit sale or hire-purchase of a house or flat up to 6,000,000 FCFA | Registered free of duty (the land itself is taxed at the ordinary rate) | Same article |
| Transfer fees charged by the ANDF | 0.3% of the price up to 10,000,000 FCFA; 30,000 FCFA from 10 to 50 million; 0.5% above 50 million | ANDF, "Transfer of ownership" page |
| Land registry fees | 2,500 FCFA per title created; 1,250 FCFA per duplicate or per title created by a split; 500 FCFA per other formality | 2022 finance law, article 25.3 |
| Notary's fees on a property sale | 1% up to 25,000,000 FCFA, with a 50,000 FCFA minimum; 0.75% above 50,000,000 FCFA | Benin Chamber of Notaries, resolution of 30 January 2020 |
Three caveats. First, the 5% rate appears in Law No. 2023-01, the 2024 finance law, published by the ANDF; the websites of the tax directorate and the Ministry of Finance, which host the consolidated code, were unreachable on 14 September 2026, and we could not read the latest edition of the code. Second, the ANDF transfer scale has changed: when the e-Notaire platform was launched in April 2020, the government announced a flat 15,000 FCFA for transactions up to 10 million (gouv.bj), whereas the current ANDF page states 0.3% of the price. Third, in the Chamber of Notaries' letter of 31 January 2020 published by the ANDF, the rate for the 25 to 50 million bracket is hard to read: ask the notary for the calculation.
To compare with other countries in the region, see our article on notary fees and registration duties. If you finance the purchase with a loan, the financing calculator estimates a monthly payment from the rate and term you enter: we do not publish rates, which depend on each bank.
Residential leases are governed by Law No. 2022-30 of 20 December 2022 on residential leases, published in Official Gazette No. 02 bis of 25 January 2023 according to the Ministry of Justice summary. It repeals Law No. 2018-12 of 2 July 2018 (article 141), which many press articles and agency websites still quote. The main caps did not change from one law to the other, but the article numbers did. Its rules are mandatory (article 139).
| Question | Rule | Article |
|---|---|---|
| Is a written lease required? | Yes, signed by landlord and tenant, with a move-in inventory attached | 5 and 11 |
| How much deposit? | Three months' rent at most, paid when the keys are handed over and refunded at the end of the lease; it cannot be increased during the lease | 57, 69 and 71 |
| Maximum rent | Annual rent cannot exceed 8% of the home's real value, calculated from the scales of a national valuation commission approved by decree | 55 to 58 |
| Rent increases | An increase under a review clause cannot exceed 2% of the initial annual rent | 68 |
| Payment | Monthly, on the agreed date, against a receipt | 66 |
| Agency fee | Free, except for two caps: 50% of one month's rent when the agent only puts the parties in touch (paid by whoever hired the agent); 10% of the monthly rent when the agent manages the home for the landlord | 27 |
| Lease term | Freely agreed by the parties | 72 |
| Unpaid rent | Written formal notice or bailiff's summons, one month to pay, then an application to the court president, who rules within thirty days | 75 and 76 |
| Eviction | Only a bailiff can evict; the landlord cannot do it personally | 77 and 78 |
| Landlord taking the home back | Six months' reasoned notice served by a bailiff; compensation of at least one year's rent if the conditions are not met | 83 to 85 |
| Sale of the rented home | The lease continues; the tenant has a right of first refusal, one month to accept the offer and two months to buy; the deposit passes to the new owner | 47, 49 to 51 and 53 |
| Subletting | Landlord's written consent; no more than the rent, or 10% more if the tenant furnishes the home | 43 and 46 |
Example: for rent of 100,000 FCFA a month, the deposit cannot exceed 300,000 FCFA, and an agent who only found you the home cannot charge more than 50,000 FCFA.
What the law leaves out matters too. We found no notice period set for a departing tenant and no published scales that would allow the 8% maximum rent to be calculated: so write the term, the exit conditions and the service charges into the lease. The practice of demanding "months in advance" or "prepaid months" on top of the deposit has been reported in the press (Matin Libre, 6 November 2023, quoting an advert asking for three months in advance, three "prepaid" months, a water and electricity deposit and a fee). In July 2026, as rents rose in Cotonou, the government spokesperson recalled the three-month deposit limit and urged tenants to report abuses to the police (La Nouvelle Tribune, July 2026). For rules shared with other countries, see our article on leases, deposits and notice periods.
In Benin, property brokerage is a regulated profession under Law No. 2022-30. Buying, selling, renting and managing property on behalf of others are "property operations" (article 18). To carry them out, an agent must (article 19):
The agent acts under a written, registered, time-limited mandate, failing which the mandate is void (articles 21 and 23), and may not buy or rent the property they are instructed to sell or let (article 26). Habitually carrying out these operations without a card, even as a sideline, is punishable by a fine of 50,000 to 1,000,000 FCFA and, for repeat offences, 500,000 to 2,000,000 FCFA and ten days to two years in prison, or one of those penalties (article 32). The rules for the register and the card are to be set by decree: we found no such decree published as of 14 September 2026. Ask anyway for a written mandate and a receipt for every payment.
The main public scheme is the "20,000 economic and social homes" programme run by the Société immobilière et d'aménagement urbain (SImAU), which covers building, selling and managing the co-ownership of homes in 14 towns in Benin, all three-bedroom F4 units, as flats or single-storey villas, according to the official programme presentation. Sales started on 20 February 2025 in the Ouèdo estate, one of the programme's first three "new towns", located in the municipality of Abomey-Calavi according to SImAU's programme page. The housing minister then spoke of "nearly 11,000 units, all F4", and SImAU's director general of a 50,000 FCFA application fee, no down payment and a three-month advance (gouv.bj, 18 February 2025).
The housing types page, checked on 14 September 2026, shows the following homes, all located in Ouèdo (villa E in "Ouèdo - Ouando"):
| Type | Living area | Cash price | Rent-to-own | Plain rental |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Social villa D, F4 | 71.5 m² | 22,880,000 FCFA | 97,000 FCFA a month over 25 years | Not stated |
| Flat A, F4 | 86.30 m² | From 43,700,000 FCFA | From 175,000 FCFA over 25 years | From 75,000 FCFA excluding charges |
| Flat C2, F4 | 84 m² | From 44,200,000 FCFA | From 177,000 FCFA over 25 years | From 75,000 FCFA excluding charges |
| Flat B, F4 | 91.17 m² | 48,400,000 FCFA | From 194,000 FCFA over 25 years | From 75,000 FCFA excluding charges |
| Villa E, F4 | 102.65 m² | 59,600,000 FCFA | 242,000 FCFA over 25 years | Not stated |
For social villa D, the State pays for the land, the technical studies and site supervision and the servicing, so the buyer only pays the construction cost, according to the same presentation. These are the operator's prices on the date checked: they do not describe Cotonou's private market. In February 2025 the minister spoke of economic homes paid over 17 years and social homes over 25 years; the current page shows 25 years for every type. Get the terms confirmed in writing when you book.
A seller who only shows a sale agreement, a receipt or a note signed by a neighbourhood chief can no longer sell validly: without confirmation of rights or a certificate of ownership, the sale is exposed to absolute nullity (articles 16 and 17 of the code). Insist on the land title, or a still-valid certificate of ownership or CEC, and on the notary's written opinion.
A plot sold to several buyers remains a risk as long as it has no title. Once it does, registration is what counts: before each entry, the registrar checks the parties' identity and capacity, the entry of the seller's right on the title and whether the property is available (new article 161), and a dispute can be flagged to third parties through a provisional entry (prénotation) authorised by the court president (new article 181). Pay on signing at the notary's office and have the transfer filed straight away.
Land judgments can affect whole neighbourhoods. On 4 March 2026 the Council of Ministers declared 22 areas to be of public utility where enforcing court decisions would lead to mass demolition of homes, in the municipalities of Cotonou, Abomey-Calavi, Klouékanmey, Bopa, Zogbodomey and Lalo, citing partial enforcement over more than 7 hectares in Fidjrossè, in Cotonou, and over more than 19 hectares in Tankpè and more than 4 hectares in Adjagbo, in Abomey-Calavi (Council of Ministers report). Before buying, have the notary check whether the plot is affected by a pending case or by one of these areas.
Some plots sold by private individuals belong to the State. The ANDF, for example, warned against "attempts at mass sell-offs" of land under title No. 696 in Sèmè-Podji, which belongs to the State (notice published by the ANDF). The 2017 law also created a border zone, in principle 2,200 metres wide, along the borders with Burkina Faso, Niger, Nigeria and Togo: land cannot be bought or sold there for the benefit of private individuals, and no rights can be confirmed there in their favour (articles 7, 346-1, 346-4 and 522-6). In municipalities near a border, have the surveyor locate the plot.
The 2025 cadastre decree provides that the natural public domain, "in particular permanently wet areas and low-lying land (bas-fonds)", is mapped and entered into the cadastral database (article 34). A bas-fond is therefore not a plot like any other. In Cotonou, the World Bank describes neighbourhoods formerly hit by flooding where the works of the Cotonou Stormwater Drainage Programme have reduced the impact of floods: Enagnon and Akpakpa-Dodomè in the 4th district, Sètovi, Vêdoko, Zogbo, Midédji and Kouhounou in the 10th (World Bank, 15 May 2025). Elsewhere, nothing tells you the works have been done: visit in the rainy season and talk to the neighbours before buying.
A "démarcheur" who shows homes, collects viewing fees or asks for a full month's rent as commission is acting outside Law No. 2022-30: the fee is capped at half a month for a simple introduction and a professional card is mandatory. Other scams recur across the region: we cover them in our article on avoiding property scams in West Africa.
| Need | Contact |
|---|---|
| Sale deed, cost statement, transfer of ownership | A notary, who files the transfer online with the ANDF |
| Title status report, certificate of ownership, confirmation of rights, cadastre | National Land and State Property Agency (ANDF) and its municipal offices |
| Certificate of customary holding, subdivision, resettlement | The town hall |
| Boundary marking, topographic survey | A licensed surveyor (géomètre-expert) |
| Rent, deposit or eviction dispute | The president of the court of first instance where the home is located, in summary proceedings; a bailiff for formal notices |
| Estate agent's professional card | The ministry in charge of housing |
| Homes in the public programme | SImAU, through the 20,000-homes programme website |
As of 14 September 2026, Imonga publishes no listings and no new-build projects in Benin. The professionals directory has 31 Beninese entries: 22 developers, 8 agencies and 1 listings platform. By town shown on the profile: Cotonou 23, Abomey-Calavi 5, Ouidah 1, Porto-Novo 1, and one nationwide platform with no town. Four carry Imonga's "verified" badge, which replaces neither the professional card required by Law No. 2022-30 nor your own checks: no Beninese profile shows a card number. Before paying any professional found here or elsewhere, ask for their card, a written mandate and a receipt.
No, not since 14 August 2023. Article 17 of the Land and State Property Code requires the sale to be preceded by confirmation of land rights or, failing that, by a certificate of ownership from the ANDF, valid for one non-renewable year. Otherwise the sale is exposed to absolute nullity (article 16). The deed must be notarised or lodged with a notary (article 18).
Law No. 2017-15 replaced the land ownership certificate with the land title as the outcome of the procedure. CPFs issued at the end of procedures started before the reform are deemed land titles (article 539-2). Before buying, have the notary check the matching entry in the land register at the ANDF.
Three months' rent at most, under Law No. 2022-30 of 20 December 2022 (articles 57 and 69). The deposit is paid when the keys are handed over, cannot be increased during the lease and is refunded at the end. An agent who only introduced you to the landlord cannot charge more than half a month's rent.
The General Tax Code sets a 5% registration duty on the price (article 331, as worded by the 2024 finance law). The ANDF charges transfer fees of 0.3% up to 10 million FCFA, 30,000 FCFA from 10 to 50 million and 0.5% above. Notary's fees come on top. Ask for a written statement before signing.
Yes in urban areas, subject to reciprocity agreements or international treaties (article 14 of the Land and State Property Code). Rural land is reserved for Beninese nationals, according to the ANDF. Members of the Beninese diaspora buy on the same terms as residents: notary, land title or certificate of ownership, online transfer.
We do not publish prices: Imonga has no listings in Benin, and we found no recent public statistics on prices by neighbourhood. The only official prices we quote are SImAU's for Ouèdo, from 22,880,000 FCFA for the social villa to 59,600,000 FCFA for villa E. For an existing property, compare and get a valuation.
Pages and texts consulted on 14 September 2026.
Real estate in Dakar: land titles, leases, délibérations, buying costs, renting and land traps
Renting or buying in Dakar: what land titles, leases and délibérations are worth, the costs set by the Tax Code, the two-month deposit cap of the 2023 decree and the land freezes. No invented prices: Imonga has no listings in Senegal.
Real estate in Lomé: renting, buying, asking prices, leases and land titles
Renting or buying in Lomé: what 115 Imonga listings in Greater Lomé show, the three-month caps on deposit and rent guarantee, the land title required by the 2018 Code, fees published by the OTR and the traps to avoid.
Real estate in Abidjan: ACD land titles, leases, off-plan purchases, social housing and traps to avoid
Renting or buying in Abidjan: the ACD and CMPF under the Urban Planning Code, advance rent and deposit capped at two months, off-plan rules, SICOGI now ANAH, and land traps. No invented prices: Imonga has no listings in Côte d'Ivoire.
Buying land in Cotonou: process and pitfalls to avoid
Land title, topographic survey, customary sale: how to buy land in Benin safely.
Ready to move from reading to searching? Browse verified listings or get a free valuation.
The advice above is worth most when applied to a specific property. 126 listings are online, viewable without an account.